UPDATE: Meet the 2017-18 National FFA Officer Candidates

By |2019-02-11T15:56:36-05:00October 23rd, 2017|National Officers, The Feed|

The 2017-18 National FFA Officer Team will be selected during the 90th National FFA Convention & Expo, electing six new FFA members to serve as the student leaders of the National FFA Organization.

The process to become a national officer is arduous and complete, with the candidates – each state FFA association can submit one individual member annually – taking part in an extensive interview process with a National FFA Officer Nominating Committee. The committee is comprised of students who interview and select the national FFA officers during each National FFA Convention & Expo.

It takes a highly motivated person to become a successful national FFA officer—an opportunity afforded to few members. Becoming a national officer requires members to learn about their passions and gain a better understanding of what life as a national officer is really like. A life of glamour and glory—maybe, but the truth is that as a national officer, life is non-stop hard work and never-ending commitments.

Talk to past national FFA officers, and most all will say that the rewards of serving FFA and holding a position of influence with more than half a million FFA members was a life changing experience—one they will cherish forever.

The 2017-18 National FFA Officer Team, chosen from a pool of 41 candidates, will be selected during the Ninth General Session of the convention on Saturday, Oct. 28. A list of finalists will be announced late on Monday, Oct. 23. All candidates will be introduced during the Fifth General Session on Friday, Oct. 27.

Candidates advancing to Phase II of the 2017-18 National FFA Officer Team selection process:

  • Arizona – Bryce Cluff
  • California – Breanna Holbert
  • Colorado – Augustus Gill
  • Georgia – Ian Bennett
  • Idaho – Gretchen Hansten
  • Illinois – Kade Hill
  • Iowa – Erica Baier
  • Kansas – Kyler Langvardt
  • Kentucky – Gracie Furnish
  • Louisiana – Layni LeBlanc
  • Maryland – Hannah Adkins
  • Michigan – Loren King
  • Missouri – Jacqueline Janorschke
  • Montana – Kacie Cummings
  • New Jersey – Morgan Rutar
  • New Mexico – Kynzi Creighton
  • North Carolina – Katelyn Honeycutt
  • Ohio – Mary Buehler
  • Oklahoma – Piper Merritt
  • Oregon – Shea Booster
  • South Carolina – Brooke Feder
  • Tennessee – Chelsea Sanders
  • Texas – Brice Boyd
  • Virginia – Ashley Yanego