Support the FFA Federal Charter Revision

By |2019-01-15T16:28:56-05:00June 26th, 2018|Bylaws & Constitution, FFA New Horizons|

With an eye toward the future, National FFA is seeking to amend our federal charter. Now, we need your help in writing to members of Congress to ask for support of the legislation that promises a skilled, sustainable workforce of students prepared for 21st-century careers in agriculture.

By bringing on additional congressional co-sponsors and bipartisan support, the likelihood of amendment passage during this session of Congress increases. FFA members nationwide deserve that type of support as we pursue the opportunity to grow the relevance of FFA and agricultural education in our nation’s schools.

Of particular need is support of the FFA charter amendment from members of the House and Senate judiciary committees (list below).

Please send a letter or email to your legislator requesting co-sponsorship and support of H.R. 439 (House) or S. 112 (Senate).

If your member(s) of Congress have already signed on as a co-sponsor of the legislation, you may simply write them a note of thanks for supporting this work.

The amendment to the FFA federal charter will guarantee the relevance of agricultural education in our nation’s schools and prepare students to fill the 235 unique careers in agriculture. FFA continues to have strong support from the U.S. Department of Education regarding this matter.

Have questions about the FFA federal charter? Check our Frequently Asked Questions page, or contact us directly!

Senate Judiciary Committee, 116th Congress

  • Dianne Feinstein (California)
  • Kamala Harris (California)
  • Richard Blumenthal (Connecticut)
  • Chris Coons (Delaware)
  • Mazie Hirono (Hawaii)
  • Mike Crapo (Idaho)
  • Dick Durbin (Illinois)
  • Chuck Grassley (Iowa)
  • Joni Ernst (Iowa)
  • John Kennedy (Louisiana)
  • Amy Klobuchar (Minnesota)
  • Josh Hawley (Missouri)
  • Ben Sasse (Nebraska)
  • Cory Booker (New Jersey)
  • Thom Tillis (North Carolina)
  • Sheldon Whitehouse (Rhode Island)
  • Lindsey Graham (South Carolina)
  • Marsha Blackburn (Tennessee)
  • John Cornyn (Texas