Proficiencies | National FFA Organization
Sign In

Proficiency Awards

 for more information and to access the National FFA Proficiency applications.


Congratulations 2017 National Proficiency Award Finalists

The National FFA Agricultural Proficiency Awards honor FFA members who, through their supervised agricultural experiences (SAEs), have developed specialized skills that they can apply toward their future careers.

Students can compete for awards in almost 50 areas covering everything from agricultural communications to wildlife management. There are four types of proficiency awards:

Placement proficiency awards are given to those whose SAEs are related to employment, apprenticeships, or internships at an agribusiness or agriculture-related organization.

Entrepreneurship proficiency awards are given to those whose SAEs are related to ownership of an agribusiness or agriculture-related enterprise.

Combined some proficiency award areas are not split into entrepreneurship and placement, applicants can combine both placement and entrepreneurship records if both are included in the SAE.

Agriscience Research proficiency awards involve planning and conducting an agriculturally based scientific experiment based on hypothesis and the use of the scientific methods of investigation on the hypothesis.

Proficiency awards are recognized at the local, state and national levels. Local chapter winners compete to win their state. The state winner from each state competes nationally.

National Awards

Participants in the National FFA Agricultural Proficiency Awards program will receive a rating of National Finalist, Gold, Silver, Bronze, Participant or Disqualified.

Four “National Finalists” are selected for each of the award areas and will go on to compete for a national proficiency award. Proficiency award winners are announced onstage during the National FFA Convention & Expo.

Each national finalist receives $500 cash award and a plaque. National winners receive an additional $500 award and a plaque.

Dual Participation in National FFA Award Programs

Members who have qualified to participate in more than one award or recognition activity (e.g. career development events and agriscience or agriscience and proficiency or Star finalist) must notify the national FFA staff of each national award area no later than Sept 1 of the current year. National staff will determine if accommodations for dual participation can be arranged. Under no circumstances will the accommodation impact the published schedule, overall integrity of the event or other participants' ability to be fairly evaluated. Members may have to forgo participation in an event/award area if no accommodation can be made.

2017 - 2018 Agricultural Proficiency Award Sponsors