Agricultural Proficiency Awards

The Agricultural Proficiency Awards honor FFA members who, through their SAEs, have developed specialized skills that they can apply toward their future careers.

Students can compete for awards in 49 areas covering everything from Agricultural Communications to Wildlife Management.  Each award area has two categories, placement and entrepreneurship.

Placement proficiency awards are given to those whose SAEs are related to employment, apprenticeships, or internships at an agribusiness or agriculture-related organization.

Entrepreneurship proficiency awards are given to those whose SAEs are related to ownership of an agribusiness or agriculture-related organization.

Proficiency awards are given out at the local, state and national levels.


National Finalist Convention information

Congratulations on being a national finalist! All finalists were mailed a copy of the information below and emailed the proficiency registration link and code. If you did not receive your registration code please contact Rosalie Hunsinger at or Rebecca Carter at, or call 317-802-6060 to obtain the registration code.

National Finalist letter

Advisor of national finalist letter

Finalist checklist 2013

Reducing size of photographs

W-9 Form

Proficiency Waiver Form

Registration link

Costa Rica essay needs to be completed by October 1st. Online registration has questions to download into word and upload by October 1st.

Proficiency Application Photo Page Problem

It came to our attention that one of the Proficiency applications posted on the FFA website had a font/text size change on the photo pages. The required font size for the photo textbox is Arial 14. As soon as we discovered the problem, we uploaded a corrected application. If your applicants downloaded an application that had the font size on the photo pages as Arial 10 please resize the text to Arial 14, prior to forwarding the application for national judging (state winners only).

We also noticed that if someone copies and paste from Word into the text boxes, sometimes the font is changed to preset preferences on your computer. Please make certain all text boxes, except those on the photo pages, are set to  Arial 10. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact Rosalie Hunsinger at 317-802-4255 or and Rebecca Carter at 317-802-4271 or

National Awards

Participants in the National Agricultural Proficiency Awards program will receive a rating of National Finalist, Gold, Silver, Bronze, Participant or Disqualified.

Four “National Finalists” are selected for each of the 49 award areas and will go on to compete for a national proficiency award. National Agricultural Proficiency Award winners are announced onstage during the National FFA Convention.

Each national finalist receives $500 cash award and a plaque. National winners receive an additional $500 award and a plaque.


The number of proficiency award areas offered each year varies, depending upon funding and sponsorships. If you’d like to sponsor an Agricultural Proficiency award, contact the National FFA Foundation.​​

Your current Agricultural Proficiency Award Sponsors.