20 chosen to serve on 2013-14 National Collegiate Agriculture Ambassador team

  • Print this page

  • Tell A friend

INDIANAPOLIS (Wednesday, Sept. 4, 2013/National FFA Organization) – Twenty FFA members from throughout the country have been selected to serve on the 2013-14 National Collegiate Agriculture Ambassador team by the National FFA Organization. The team includes:

FLORIDA: James Barringer and Elise Stoddard, both of New Smyma Beach
MINNESOTA: Sara Colombe of Little Falls
ARKANSAS: Ashton Dawson of Bentonville and L. Jade Halliburton of Crossett
ILLINOIS: Jacob Dickey of Gibson City, Justice Plummer of Chicago and Nicole Zeien of Belvidere
MISSOURI: Cara Fordyce of Kidder and Courtney Spencer of Aurora
NORTH CAROLINA: Beverly Hampton of Mount Ulla
PENNSYLVANIA: K. Janae Herr of Lancaster and Carolyn Lawrence of Chambersburg
IOWA: Katie Johnson of Milford
MONTANA: Karoline Rose of Bozeman
WISCONSIN: Sam Tauchen of Bonduel
CALIFORNIA: Kiah Twisselman of Santa Margarita
KANSAS: Alexis Wingerson of Smith Center
RHODE ISLAND: Lauren Woloohojian of West Greenwich
UTAH: Katherine Nye of Delta

All 20 FFA members underwent specialized training Aug. 5-9 in Greensboro, N.C., to learn how to best advocate for agriculture and agricultural education throughout the nation. Each ambassador must complete a minimum of 30 hours of presentations to businesses, schools, community groups and more. They will also facilitate seminars and workshops to audiences of all ages interested in learning more about the agriculture industry.

Together, this group of ambassadors help increase public understanding of the food, fiber and natural resources industry; promote awareness of the scientific, economical and mechanical resources needed to produce a safe and reliable food source; increase awareness of career opportunities in the agriculture industry for collegiate students and the general public and help provide growth opportunities in leadership, facilitation and the agricultural industry for the collegiate agriculture ambassador team.

Those selected as ambassadors were chosen in early July after submitting an application to the program and participating in an interview process. Each ambassador will serve a year in their role and receive a $1,000 scholarship for their efforts that can be used toward tuition and other school expenses.

The 2013-14 National Collegiate Ambassador program is sponsored by Syngenta, BASF and Cargill.

The National FFA Organization provides leadership, personal growth and career success training through agricultural education to 557,318 student members in grades seven through 12 who belong to one of 7,498 local FFA chapters throughout the U.S., Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands.

# # #

About National FFA Organization
The National FFA Organization is a national youth organization of 557,318 student members as part of 7,498 local FFA chapters in all 50 states, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. The FFA mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. The National FFA Organization operates under a federal charter granted by the 81st United States Congress and it is an integral part of public instruction in agriculture. The U.S. Department of Education provides leadership and helps set direction for FFA as a service to state and local agricultural education programs. For more, visit the National FFA Organization online at www.FFA.org, on Facebook, Twitter and the official National FFA Organization blog.